Lady Fry’s Waterworks

I’ve been told this was a water source for the Fry estate at Cleveland Lodge in the village. Other accounts say it was for the whinstone quarrymen’s cottages at Gribdale Terrace.  I think it’s safe to say it dates from the early 20th century and built into an old jet drift mine below Capt. Cook’s Monument. Access is along a tight concrete lined tunnel that’s hidden deep in a forestry plantation. There is another access, under a steel trapdoor and down a shaft on two or three flights of rusty steel ladders but I left them well alone. This is a location I’ve been saving for a rainy day; it was merely drizzling when I went in but proper rain when I came out.

Leave a Reply

