The Banana Tree

My first camera was a simple Kodak but sometime in my teens I was given, for a Xmas present, a SLR (single lens reflex) camera made by the German manufacturer Praktica. Colour film was far too expensive so I tinkered around with developing my own monochrome film in the bathroom. I experimented with filters of various shades but my favourite was a deep red filter which allowed light from red objects to pass but blocked blue light. It resulted in a pseudo night effect. Nowadays of course the same effect can be obtained by just a few clicks on the computer. I still love the effect.

Below Roseberry on the Folly Field a misshapen larch tree is a magnet for children to bounce on its branches. Their nickname for this tree is The Banana Tree.

Leave a Reply

