Newton Woods

I’ve only been back in England for two days and already I feel as though I’m evolving webbed feet. This is the lower path at Newton Woods, part of the National Trust’s Roseberry property. It’s actually a Public Bridleway. I’m not sure the purpose of the logs. A bit dicey to use as stepping stones for me but people are using them. A proposal has been mooted to improve the whole footpath along the bottom of the wood to make it wheelchair accessible which I think would be a good idea. But back to mud which gives me the excuse to mention that glorious Swedish word for mud geggamoja. It also reminds me of a popular poem, I must have read it in one of my children’s books. Or maybe it is a memory of my own childhood. Anyway it’s by an America lady named Polly Boyden:

Mud is very nice to feel
All squishy-squash between the toes!
I’d rather wade in wiggly mud
Than smell a yellow rose

Nobody else but the rosebush knows
How nice mud feels
Between the toes.

bottom-path-newton-wood

Leave a Reply

